You are viewing the legacy version of Return to Current Website iKeepSafe

C3 Matrix

childrenThe iKeepSafe Digital Citizenship C3 Matrix is provided here to assist educators in integrating the essentials of cyber-safety, cyber-security, and cyber-ethics (C3 concepts) into existing technology and literacy standards and curricula. Based on the C3 Framework created by education and technology expert Davina Pruitt-Mentle, the iKeepSafe Digital Citizenship C3 Matrix takes a holistic and comprehensive approach to preparing students for 21st century digital communication. The Matrix outlines competency levels for C3 concepts divided into three levels: basic, intermediate, and proficient.

C3 Subject Areas


Correlation of the ISTE/NET-S & AASL/AECT. 21st Century Framework and C3 Matrix

Correlation of Standards Chart

Although the Matrix presents the C3 principles as separate categories, they are not distinct or separable; they are, in fact, interrelated and should be considered as a whole. These principles should be embedded systemically throughout students’ K-12 experience, not taught in isolation, and should be applied when meeting learning outcomes in the content areas. They can also be used as a companion and supplement to the various technology literacy standards for students created by ISTE, AASL, AECT, and others.

The three competency levels outlined in the C3 Matrix are not identified by grade level; rather, they represent progressive levels of cognitive complexity at which youth should be expected to understand and practice. The levels were developed using Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives (2001 revised edition), a hierarchy of six progressively complex cognitive processes that learners use to attain objectives or perform activities.

Cyber-safety, security, and ethics cannot be stagnant, because technologies are dynamic and ever changing. For example, cyber-ethical issues are experiencing vast transformation as a result of factors driven by the multi-media aspects of cell phones and the immense reservoir of information on the Internet. It is essential that educators have tools for technology education that are also dynamic and evolving. The C3 Matrix provides these tools for teachers and administrators—and the students they teach.

Bloom’s Taxonomy, the preferred system for articulating program objectives, categorizes cognitive skills by increasing order of complexity. From least to most complex these are: remembering, understanding, applying, analyzing, evaluating, implementing, and creating.

This taxonomy aids, curriculum developers, policy makers and instructional designers in better defining the desired learning level of a target audience and then developing an appropriate design that will help the learner achieve desired learning goals. Additionally, this taxonomy aids in crafting behavioral assessment instruments. What follows is a theoretical framework that can be used to inform national, regional, or local agenda. It uses three dimensions, based on practical circumstances and experiences with educating students and teachers, with input from multiple stakeholders including parents, students, educators, technology coordinators, media specialists, curriculum resource teachers, Internet safety providers, and industry security specialists. C3 subject areas have common ground, but have significant content that is distinct and important in discussing on an individual basis.

Generation Safe
Google Plus